A deeper look into

How our Archdiocese is Organized

Years ago, when there were many Oblate priests working in this diocese, it was possible to place a priest in almost every community where there was a church. This is not so any more. Today we have to recognize that not all of our communities have the same resources or can carry the same responsibilities.

To properly distribute our resources and better serve our communities, our archdiocese today is organized by deanery, parish, quasi-parish and mission. We have assigned a designation for each of these categories of Catholic community:


A Catholic community of at least 50 families or 200 persons, with a resident priest that they can support financially, and which has a functioning Parish Finance and/or Parish Pastoral Council.


A Catholic community that is lacking in one or more of the characteristics of a parish, but is still self-supporting.


A Catholic community that is not able to support itself financially, and is largely dependent on the chancery office for its needs. It is primarily for these communities that we appeal to Catholic Missions in Canada for financial assistance.


A deanery is a geographical region of a diocese, made up of several parish communities.

Deanery One

Dean: Rev. Jean Cornelis Nkuanga

Donnelly, Eaglesham, Falher, Girouxville, Guy, McLennan, St. Isidore, Tangent

Deanery Two

Dean: Rev. Isidore Onyeka, SMMM

Duncan’s First Nation, Fairview, Grimshaw, Hawk Hills, Hines Creek, Manning, Nampa, Peace River, Whitelaw

Deanery Three

Dean: Rev. Charles Duval, CSsR

Beaverlodge, Bezanson, Crooked Creek, Grande Prairie, Hythe, Horse Lake, Rio Grande, Rycroft, Sexsmith, Silver Valley, Spirit River, Sturgeon Lake, Valleyview, Wanham

Deanery Four

Dean: Rev. Lawrence Odoemena

Atikameg, Cadotte Lake, Calling Lake, Chipewyan Lake, Driftpile, East Prairie, Faust, Gift Lake, Grouard, High Prairie, Joussard, Kinuso, Little Buffalo, Peavine, Red Earth Creek, Slave Lake, Smith, Sucker Creek, Trout Lake, Wabasca-Desmarais

Deanery Five

Dean: (vacant)

Chateh, Eleske, Fort Vermilion, Fox Lake, Garden River, High Level, John D’Or Prairie, Keg River, Meander River, Paddle Prairie, Rainbow Lake, Tall Cree

Deanery Pastoral Council

Each deanery has a Deanery Pastoral Council, which is made up of all the priests who serve in the deanery, any Sisters or paid pastoral workers, and at least one representative from each parish, quasi-parish, and mission in the deanery. The Deanery Pastoral Council meets at least four times each year, to share the challenges and successes in their communities, and to respond to any requests made of the deanery, in particular, by the archbishop.

The Organizational Chart shows the relationship of the administrative and pastoral groups and organizations in the Archdiocese of Grouard-McLennan, to one another and to the Archbishop.