# **SECTION 1.7.1** Parishes, Quasi-Parishes and Missions in the Archdiocese

The Archbishop of Grouard-McLennan has the responsibility, in canon and civil law, to supervise the administration of the property, assets, and finances of the Archdiocese and its parishes, quasi-parishes and missions.

The law of the Church defines a parish in this way:

Can 515 §1. A parish is a certain community of Christ's faithful stably established within a particular Church, whose pastoral care, under the authority of the diocesan Bishop, is entrusted to a parish priest as its proper pastor.

For organizational purposes, the Catholic communities of the Archdiocese of Grouard-McLennan are identified as Parishes, Quasi-Parishes and Missions. The characteristics of each of these are normally as follows:

#### Parish

- has a resident pastor
- has at least 50 Catholic households
- is financially self-sufficient, that is, can pay all bills and can put aside 2.5% total revenue each year in the Pooled Investment Fund [cf. Policy 3.1.2]
- has a functioning parish finance committee and a parish pastoral council, or a combined body that acts as both finance and pastoral committee.

### **Quasi-Parish**

• is lacking in at least one of the characteristics of a Parish.

#### Mission

- may have a resident priest
- is lacking in at least one of the characteristics of a Parish
- is financially dependent on the Archdiocese.

The Code of Canon Law goes on to stipulate that it is the diocesan Bishop who establishes, alters or suppresses parishes, after having consulted his Council of Priests.

## 18 Parishes in the Archdiocese

Beaverlodge - St. Mary's (1948)

Fairview - St. Thomas More (1929)

Falher - Ste. Anne (1917)

Girouxville - Notre Dame de Lourdes (1955)

Grande Prairie - St. Joseph (1920) Grimshaw - Holy Family (1925)

High Level - Our Lady of Good Counsel (1963)

High Prairie - St. Paul (1915)

Manning - St. James the Major (1950)

McLennan - St. Jean Baptiste (1928)

Peace River - Our Lady of Peace (1914)

Sexsmith - Immaculate Conception (1920)

Slave Lake - St. Peter Celestin (1890)

Spirit River - St. Joseph (1902) Valleyview - Ste. Rita (1939) Wabasca/Desmarais - St. Martin (1896)

# 18 Quasi-Parishes in the Archdiocese

Bezanson - Our Lady of Perpetual Help (1948)

Crooked Creek - Holy Rosary (1946) Donnelly - Sacré Coeur (1922)

Eaglesham - St. François Xavier (1930)

Guy - St. Guy (1931) Hawk Hills - St. Peter Canisius

Hines Creek - Immaculate Heart of Mary (1953)

Hythe - St. Edmund (1929) Keg River - St. Jude (1934)

Kinuso - St. Félix de Valois (1917)

Nampa - St. Charles (1937) Rainbow Lake - St. Peter & Paul (1970)

Rio Grande - St. Patrick (1929)

Rycroft - St. Peter & Paul (1942)

St. Isidore - St. Isidore (1953)

Tangent - Sts. Martyrs Canadiens (1929)

Wanham - St. Patrick (1936)

Whitelaw - St. Theresa of the Child Jesus

# **24 Missions in the Archdiocese**

Assumption (Chateh) - Our Lady of Assumption (1928)

Atikameg - St. Benedict (1915)
Cadotte Lake - Sacred Heart (1968)
Calais (Sturgeon Lake) - St. Francis Xavier (1896)
Calling Lake - St. Léon Le Grand (1951)
Driftpile - Ste. Rose de Lima(1929)

**Duncan's First Nation** 

East Prairie - Good Shepherd

Eleske - Ste Bernadette (1935)
Faust - St. Anthony (1940)
Fort Vermillion - St. Henry (1876)

Fox Lake
- Little Flower Mission (1957)
Garden River
- St. Jean-Baptiste (1964)
Gift Lake
- St. John Bosco (1958)
- St. Bernard (1872)
John D'Or Prairie
- St. Joseph (1965)
Joussard
- Ste. Anne (1930)
Little Buffalo
- Holy Family

Meander River - Virgin of the Poor (1903)
Paddle Prairie - Christ the King (1929)
Peavine - St. Agnes (Leicester)

Red Earth Creek - Our Lady of Guadalupe (2010)
Smith - St. James the Major (1922)
Sucker Creek - Notre Dame de Fatima (1905)

Tallcree (North) - Saint Kateri

Trout Lake - Kateri Mission (1940)